Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Various questions on buying a second-hand car

23 posts in this topic

A small rant then questions. And yes I have read all TT car related posts.

WTF! Why is it so difficult to get help at a car dealership? All i want is to have my questions answered by someone that wants to help me. The dealers here want to give me the least amount of help they possibly can. What is their purpose besides wearing nice suites? ARGH!

Ok im better now. My car buying experience has been less than enjoyable. I am new to Germany as of two weeks ago and I need a car. I have decided not to lease or long term rent because I have a 2 year old that will inevitable cause damage to the car in trurn costing me tons of money at turn in. So this leads me to buying a used car. Im looking for a VW most likely a Golf or Jetta. The dealers (2 so far) are no help with my questions. I am to come knowing everything about what I want, which i dont, i now come to TT for help. Here are my questions?

1. Can you negotiate prices?

2. In the US diesel cars are hard to come by and the gas is a lot more than regular petrol. Here in German it seems diesel cars are very abundant and the gas is the same price as regular. Now i do hear that diesel prices have been raising quickly so my question is; Is buying a diesel a good choice to have in the next few years, or is regular gas a better bet? My guess is that diesel is better mileage and cleaner for the environment, but money is tight and im wondering if spending an extra 2k for a diesel will be a good deal as diesel gas prices keep raising past regular gas.

3. Is it better to finance via the bank or dealership? The dealership offers 6.9%, but if i go through the bank i will have cash and this could help with Question 1 if I can negotiate.