Pregnancy, state help, and health insurance

25 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I hope someone can help me here, although my situation is complicated to say the least and quite a personal one, but I can't seem to find the right advice anywhere-kudos for any good advice.

So I have been studying a degree in the UK for 2 years, but had to leave due to suprise pregnancy and subsequently began full time work. My partner is a second year uni student, German national. Now of course, I want to bring up my child in a proper family, so decided the best thing to do was somehow pack up and move out there.

Since I have been studying full time for practically my whole life whilst working as much as possible, I haven't paid enough UK National Insurance contributions to qualify for contribution-based JSA, which effectively means that I can't even claim ALG for the temporary 3 month allowance. It seems, in fact, that I can't claim anything until the baby comes, at which point i can only claim elterngeld which I've been told is likely to be a poxy 300 euro per month. As a student, I am used to living on a shoestring, but this seems ridiculous for a mother and baby. Can anyone enlighten me on how anyone is supposed to pay Warmmiete AND support two humans on this? I've heard something about Hartz IV but I can't seem to get any clear info. Dear boyfriend is on the case, but people keep telling us different things here there and everywhere.