Work permits for non-EU spouses of EU citizens

74 posts in this topic

Okay, this is my first time writing on a website like this and out of all that i have read hopefully someone can give me insite as to how to get into germany and start up from scratch, i.e. working, kids schooling and with the family support we will have over there then here in the United Kingdom.

It started as a good idea with a family member who has resided in the United Kingdom for 7 years. My husband was able to get his British Citizenship through his mum, and he received in August 2007. We ask the family member was it at all possible for me to apply for documentation saying that i am entitled to be here, never the less he reassured us that it can be done that he had spoken to home office. So naturally, we sold up everything in South Africa, and immigrated here in June 2007 knowing thats things would fall into place.

Well... it did not go that way, we spoke to a number of people at the Home Office telling us that I could fill out this application, but later realised that it was not viable or accepted and by then it was too late. We had an heated argument with the family member here in the united kingdom and was left to try and make it out on our own. We have spent endless amounts of money on the cost of living with no positive outcomes of my situation. And now the only thing left to do is to go over to germany where the mum and dad have resided there for the last 7 years. The support over there would be alot better then what we have now, we have no social or financial support of family and trying to live off of one salary is proven difficult.

So the point i am getting to... Is what will i need to work in germany considering that my husband is a EU citizen?

Regards to all!

Since your husband is a UK citizen you will be eligible to work here. Getting decent work may be a different story. Bear in mind, for example, that you cannot do temporary work (Zeitarbeit here).