New York vs. Frankfurt for a career in finance

6 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

After a long time lurking, the time has come for my first post. I'm looking for a bit of career advice from any posters knowledgeable in the world of finance. I will be graduating with a Masters degree in Economics from Uni Freiburg in a few months and need to start thinking about the next step - getting a J. O. B. I'd like to get into banking, which for me entails a choice between Frankfurt and New York (my hometown). It's really a tough choice, as I definitely enjoy living in both countries and have groups of friends in each who would love to see me stay in their respective countries.

I'm really not sure whether my chances of landing a good job are better in Frankfurt or in New York. A bit about my background: I'm a 25 year old male US citizen. I graduated 2005 from a good liberal arts school, majored in PoliSci and German with a minor in Economics, then went to Uni Freiburg for a Masters in Econ where I also work as a student research assistant for microeconomics/finance institute. In addition, I've worked at/managed a student-run bar in Freiburg. After living, studying and working in Freiburg for 3+ years, I speak German fluently and accent-free (probably my greatest asset).

Basically, I would appreciate any thoughts, comments, or advice from posters who know a bit about banking and finance in these two cities. I can't say exactly on the nose what kind of work I'm looking for (i.e. Sales&Trading, Ops, Investment Banking, Risk Management, etc...) as I've been in the ivory tower for too long and don't know what I'd be best suited for, but pure number-crunching is definitely not my strongest point, but rather speaking and interacting with people, be they Germans or native English speakers. Nor do I know how the lifestyle, pay, hours, etc in each city shapes out - any information would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance for any responses!