Wages for a customer service agent in Berlin

35 posts in this topic

Hello all,

I've been offered a job working as customer service agent in Berlin, the pay is €8 an hour, €1280 a month. The support is in English, I have a lot of experience in the field and they seem eager talking about the future, potential, management yadayadaya. Essentially providing sales support via telephone and email.

Can someone tell me what the going rate is? I wanted more as its just sitting on UK minimum wage and would be less if it wasn't for the FX rate.

Thanks all

Don't know what the going rate is for such a position, but wanted to advise you not to compare it to UK salaries (cost of living in Berlin is much lower than in UK and unemployment is much higher, thus salaries will be lower).

I've heard of lots of people working way below minimum wage in Berlin and working 2-3 parttime jobs just to survive and stay there.

You haven't mentioned if the €1280 is before or after tax, however if this is after tax I would say it's very reasonably paid. Considering that it's cheaper to live in Berlin than it is in Frankfurt, I can tell you that I have just signed a contract to to work as a technical support engineer (working over phone and email like you) in Frankfurt for only a couple of hundred euros a month more than you, after tax.

The way i would look at it, is: how much does your rent/electricity/phone/food etc cost a month?; How much do you spend elsewhere - going out etc? If that adds up to be around €800 - 900 a month then your laughing, you have a couple hundred extra left to save.

Conquistador is right, you can't compare UK and German salaries.

If you take the job - good luck