Beginner's advice on taking up jogging

117 posts in this topic

hi all,

I've read about the benefits of running online and all that, so I'd like to get myself some advice before starting.

I am a total beginner and have no idea how to go about it, especially now that it's so cold outside.

Do people warm up before going out? *I have a pretty skinny body so I'm afraid of catching flu the same day I do if I don't wear something warm*

What kind of gear is best for it (shorts/tracksuit bottoms/etc.)? Should I invest in a good pair of trainers?

Cheers for the help,

sodax

:lol:

You know what.. you just go out and jog!!! Trainers, warm trousers and a scarf, eventually... if you are the bored type, take your mp3 player, too.. just in case you might get bored or something.

Hahaha, what a question... :rolleyes:

the link that sandra posted is a good one - from the couch to the 5k. I did it and it slowly builds your endurance up over time. Check it out. You can even download a podcast to go with it - complete w/ techno music and a snappy little voice that tells you "keep going!" "almost there!" "run through your heels!" ;)

i know it may have been a stupid post, but i just wanted to ask people who'd been doing it for longer :)

thanks a lot for the tips!

If you get a taste for running, getting a decent pair of trainers is definitely recommended. I clocked up loads of miles before discovering that I had flat feet and was running in really rubbish shoes. I just thought sharp pains in the knees were par for the course...

A decent running store will have a treadmill/gait analysis thingy so they can advise on the right trainers for you. I noticed one at Kaufhof on Alexanderplatz.

Have fun!