Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Moving to Erlangen

25 posts in this topic

I am looking to move to erlangen in the middle of next year.

can anyone give me any advice on meeting english people, or finding a place to learn to speak german?

most importantly, on how to find work. i heve been working in bars, hotels and restaurants for about 9 years now. so i'm guessing this is my best bet.

i have been learning german for a few months now. but its coming on slow.

please give me as much advise as possible.

many thanks

Call into Wheeler's, great Irish pub in Erlange near the Schloss and take it from there.

You working with Adidas or Puma in Herzo? Or Siemens? Either way loads of expats about!

sit at the bar in wheelers, there are always some brits in there, and yanks too who are over on training courses, and it's owned by an english bloke and half the staff are irish. google [wheelers erlangen]. also post messages to random brits on here and just ask every brit that you meet if they know any more brits and just keep meeting people. everyone knows how it was when they first arrived having no friends so everyone is very welcoming. also have a look on facebook and search for Erlangen in the Germany network and you'll find loads of brittish students that are over here. I know at least 20/30 brits after only being here 3 months however half have left already or are leaving soon. it's the usual flow of things where everyone comes here temporarily. no one makes any long-term friends. with regards work... no advice there sorry although wheelers is always looking for new staff *shrugs*

thanks for the reply chaps. will check out the pub on google. looking forward to the new venture. keep me posted if you have anymore advise for me

Hi!