Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Equity ownership culture in Germany

5 posts in this topic

All, I am really surprised that onwership of equities by Germans is so low- the below link says it's only 6.7%:

http://www.dw-world.de/dw/article/0,2144,2730224,00.html

I do think that the figure may be higher if one takes pension funds and other forms of indirect ownership into account- perhaps the 6.7% figure is only for direct ownership.

There was no expectation on my part that equity ownership would be as widespead as in the Anglo-Saxon countries; nevertheless, it is worth asking why not, especially given capital gains treatment that is far more favorable than that in the US for shares owned >1 year (not sure about the UK, but I doubt that there is a CGT there of zero for sales of shares held over one year).

Any thoughts on this?

As you can imagine, being a banker by profession and with a number of years experience in private banking in Germany, I know German investors and their attitude from first hand.

There are certainly tons of reasons to be found, one of them being that in German families and schools the great crash from 1929 is still a major story, how greatgrand-dad lost everything and so on. The only time when Germans were starting on a broad front to enter the markets again was exactly on the height of the internt hype and most people did it with greed, no long term strategy, no diversification of asset strategy and so on and lost lots of money again. During the last couple of month, when stock values reached levels of 2000 again, German de-invested their stocks and investment-funds in the area of 6-10 billions worth of Euro because they could finally recuperate their old investments (of course without any profit in the meantime). And because of the current irritations at the market, many will say now: gee. am I glad to be out of that, I knew it wouldn't last and so on.