Pensions and freelance English teachers in Germany

76 posts in this topic

I am totally out of my swimming pool here. Does any one know if freelance english teachers are r.v.pflichtig. I get differing reports. If this is the case, it looks like i will die of hunger before I can claim a pension as the amount they want is stupid. My steuerberater is trying to look into this, but has asked me to talk with other English teachers to see what they do.

Thanks for helping wipe the mud from my eyes in advance

Iain.

If your Steuerberater does not know, then get another one (or charge him for finding the definitive answer)

agree with YorkshireLad once again: if your Steuerberater can not come up with a definitve answer to this question for you, get one who can. It is not your job to do his work (unless he works for free, of course).

I am a professional independent insurance broker, financial adviser, and authorised advertiser. Contact me.

Trust the guy who writes on that site I posted. He knows his stuff and has been fighting for ages to get the rules changed.

There are some new rules about retirement insurance.

Basically a "trainer" can avoid paying retirement taxes if he can make the case that they will not be living in Germany for over three years. What you need is a special form that gives you an exemption from this tax. Does anyone know the name of the form?

Gazoo

Topics merged by admin

interesting. where did you hear/learn about this? what is the law/regulatiuon behind this change...?

Cheerio

I am a professional independent insurance broker, financial adviser, and authorised advertiser. Contact me.