How to learn German if you work silly hours

16 posts in this topic

Hey everyone.

I'm new to Germany and in a pickle so thought I'd canvas you worldy types in the hope of gaining some answers.

I need to learn German because I can't speak any. My problem is that I work from 8.30-20.30 every weekday except Wednesday, when it's more like 8.30-23.00. It gets worse in that sometimes I work 16 hours a day for the whole week, making me a very erratic person outside of work. Evening courses seem suited to normal people who finish work at 5, as the latest seems to start at 7.

Only option is a private tutor I think. Does anyone know of someone who'd be able to teach basic stuff? I'm not looking for perfection, just to be able to communicate in a simple way.

I'd be grateful for any replies!

Cheers,

Caddywaddy

My first question would be what do you do? I mean if it is a large international company, perhaps you could talk them into looking at an individual tutor for you. You could even do it yourself, but it will not be cheap.

the hours you work - well, either you'll be rich in no time and can then force people to communicate with you in the language of your choice wherever you choose to retire, or you need to look for a new job. actually, look for a new job - the waiting game never pays (I only do this for now, like for 20 years, after that my life will totally take off. as if)

get a job that frees you to have language lessons or even a (social?) life ;)

On the flip side form Richard... & dimmer, go to your local university & put up a notice asking a student to tutor you. It could be in exchange for either money or in a trade for you're English skills, either way you'll be flooded with offers & they won't mind when they do it!

I mean if it is a large international company...