German VAT when invoicing clients in the U.S.

32 posts in this topic

Hi,

I'm a Dutch freelance writer/designer living and working in Berlin. I have a German one-man company with a (Euro-) VAT number/Umsatzsteuernummer.

So I don't invoice VAT (USt or Mehrwertsteuer) to my EU clients, being companies that also have VAT numbers.

My new client is an American (Massachusetts) company. Some of my German colleagues say I don't need to put VAT on my invoices to them -- it's "abroad". That sounds too simple to me, and I can't find info about the legislation.

Does anyody here have any experience as a German firm invoicing American clients?

Needless to say, I provide services, I don't export goods.

Thanks!

Jan