Feeling sad about my move to Frankfurt

15 posts in this topic

Hello,

I moved to FFM from UK 6 months ago but at the moment feel like I've made a terrible mistake.

My Dad is German and I studied the language to Degree level so I've not had too much trouble in terms of communication. I did an 8 week refresher course at the Goethe Institut when I first moved out and I managed to get a job as PA very quickly, BUT ...

My husband works in London and is only here at weekends. I miss him very much. He speaks very little German so there's no possibility of him finding work in Germany, added to that he's 50 and would be considered over the hill by most employers (hope he doesn't read this thread ;) ).

Has anyone been in a similiar situation / long-distance relationship? At present my heart is telling me to move back to UK, but am I giving up too soon? There are so many things I like about living here:

lovely flat

reasonable rent / lower living costs

walking distance to city

great public transport - no need for car

The downsides are:

leading a long-distance relationship.

missing friends

pretty dull job (my colleagues talk about being stressed all the time when they do naff all!!!)

supermarkets and surley shop assistants

Being stared at, like I've got a bogey hanging out of my nose.

Hubby loves it here, but he only sees the nice stuff.

As I said at the beginning - I welcome your comments.

Thanks for reading.