Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Nursing job opportunities in Munich

12 posts in this topic

Hi,

I am an Australian trained Registered Nurse with experience in both emergency and occupational health moving to Munich in January. I would appreciate any advice on jobs for nurses in Munich. Does anyone know of english speaking Doctors who would employ an english speaking nurse? or of large companies that would use an occuaptional health nurse? I am quite flexable in what i can do, I would be interested in working as a CRA for a pharmaceutical company or can also do first aid training. Your assistance is greatly appreciated.thanks

Hi,

being German I am a bit pessimistic about your job search.

There are several things to consider, like:

Are you a citizen of the EU or married to an EU citizen (makes it a whole lot easier to get a work permit)?

Is your degree recognized in Germany? In Germany you become a nurse by working 3,5 years in a hospital while attending a nursing school attached to a hospital (or several hospitals). It is not a University/College degree. Other EU nursing diplomas are recognized in Germany though, as far as I know. Don't know about an Australian diploma.

Do you speak German? Seems extremly hard for me to find a nursing job without being somewhat fluent in German.

It might be easier to find an adequate job with the pharmaceutical industry. There are tons of internet job search engines - again for the German job market mostly in German.

Jabbahhh, I don't think you are pessimistic, what you wrote sounds very realistic.

I do know personally many nurses brought over here from other countries that could not speak german, to nurse here. There is an exteme shortage of qualified nurses here still! (as in most countries ín the world).

I would check with your International Nurses Assoc (if there is one- I know the Dental Hygienists have one) and see what the restrictions are, and see where you fit.

Good luck!