Registration without living

20 posts in this topic

A friend of mine (German citizen) is leaving Germany for a year. He will not be employed, no taxes, no insurance. He will deregister at his old address. 

He has a case going on in the courts (not criminal, a civil case) for which he expects some communication to happen during his absence. 

In order for him to receive his letters (court and other letters) at my address, am I allowed to register him at my address?

Or only get his address updated with the bank, court, lawyer without a registration? 

I don't want any trouble with 'fake registration' and fines and so on. Please suggest options in case you have dealt with a similar situation. I would like to help him out but not at the cost of trouble to myself or my family. 

I think it would be illegal for him to register at yours when he doesn't live there or in Germany for that matter.

I'm no a lawyer.

Maybe you could just put his name on your mailbox to get his mail and he can give it to those who need it.

1 minute ago, fraufruit said:

Maybe you could just put his name on your mailbox to get his mail and he can give it to those who need it.

Do I need a permission from my landlord or I could just do it? 

2 minutes ago, fraufruit said:

I think it would be illegal for him to register at yours when he doesn't live there or in Germany for that matter.

This is what I fear 

40 minutes ago, ivn490 said:

A friend of mine (German citizen) is leaving Germany for a year. He will not be employed, no taxes, no insurance. He will deregister at his old address. 

He has a case going on in the courts (not criminal, a civil case) for which he expects some communication to happen during his absence. 

In order for him to receive his letters (court and other letters) at my address, am I allowed to register him at my address?

Or only get his address updated with the bank, court, lawyer without a registration?