Inheritance tax on UK assets for UK citizen as German resident

8 posts in this topic

Hello, I am a UK citizen resident in Germany. My mother passed away recently and as the sole beneficiary of her estate, I stand to inherit around 300k GBP

and a house worth 330k GBP. So approx 630k. For my situation, my tax free allowance in the UK is 1m GBP. Therefore I do not need to pay any inheritance tax.

It just occured to me however I may need to pay inheritance tax in Germany. I found the below link and it would be 15% on everything above 400k €.

https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erbschaftsteuer_in_Deutschland

I also found some threads on here, but considering Brexit, I'm not sure how valid the information is.

So I am hoping to get some advice on what I need to do with regards to calculating and paying the correct taxes in Germany.

The house was purchased in 1974, so I assume it will not be subject to capital gains tax when I sell it.

Cheers

I cannot comment from the German perspective but the UK rules charge IHT on the estate, not the beneficiaries.  If any IHT is due, it must be paid before the executors can obtain Probate and therefore before the residue of the estate can be distributed in accordance with the Will.  The £1m relates to cases where the full Nil Rate Band of £325,000 is available in relation to the first deceased, i.e. none of that NRB had been used on their death as the whole of estate was left to the spouse, meaning it can be transferred (on a claim) to the estate of the second-deceased.  Similarly, with the Residence NRB (up to £175,000), where, on the second death, the house was left to direct descendants.  So, the maximum Nil Rate  value is 2 x £325,000 and 2 x £175,000 = £1m.  I am sure that has all been dealt with correctly in the UK but just thought I would mention it in case it is relevant/helps.