Tax question - Full time self-employed and a student. Can I claim for student fees?

7 posts in this topic

Hi all – new year, so, alas, time to think about my tax return again. I have a hopefully fairly straightforward question, and wondered if anyone could help out.

The question is - can I offset university tuition fees against my German taxes?

To give more information - I work full time as a freelance graphic designer here in Germany. I’m doing my first degree part-time with the Open University in the UK (started before I moved over here), for which I pay about £3500 a year in tuition fees. It’s an English Literature degree, so not really associated with my work. I’ve read some information on the internet about this, and seem to think it’s possible to put the tuition fees down as a deductible - but it’s unclear as to whether the degree has to have a connection with my work or not.

Thanks very much in advance.

3 minutes ago, PandaMunich said:

@scook17

Of course it is deductible, as Sonderausgaben, up to 6,000€ per year: https://www-finanztip-de.translate.goog/ausbildungskosten/?_x_tr_sl=de&_x_tr_tl=en&_x_tr_hl=en-GB

Sonderausgaben only have an effect if somebody has income that year, which smallfrei has.

Panda,

Yes, you are of course correct.

https://germantaxes.de/first-degree-second-degree/

The finantip article is also very interesting to read.

I remember looking into this a while back and coming to the conclusion first degrees are 'effectively' non deductible, but I had in mind a child studying for the first time at university. Sorry I mixed this up. Thanks for the correction.