Suggestions for investment in US stock/funds market

32 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone, Hope you are all enjoying the summer.

Wanted to know if any of you (in Germany/Europe) invest in the US stock markets or mutual funds. I do not intend to do day trading - just some long term investments. To clarify, I am not a US citizen so those options (if any) are not relevant to me. However, since I did live in the USA i have a US bank account and a SSN.

I did some googling and found that Interactive Brokers, Charles Schwab and other international brokers allow this. However, these seem to be tools geared for day trading and the costs (withdrawal charges and steep starting investment) may be justified if one is a day trader. Not so sure if its justified for my need. And then there are some threads suggesting eToro, Degiro and other names which I have not really heard a lot (though I admit I am a beginner and havent kept myself knowledgable on Fintech) 

Wanted to know if Toytowners have any suggestions for me.

Thanks in advance. Cheers!!

Interactive brokers doesn´t have maintenance fees. So unless you trade, there will be no fees (except for e.g. fees for processing dividends from ADRs or certain corporate actions). If you want to invest into the US market passively, you might want to look at an ETF like DGRO or RDVY.

28 minutes ago, jeba said:

Interactive brokers doesn´t have maintenance fees. So unless you trade, there will be no fees (except for e.g. fees for processing dividends from ADRs or certain corporate actions). If you want to invest into the US market passively, you might want to look at an ETF like DGRO or RDVY.