Can I, as a Auslandsstudent, play with a band at concerts as a hobby (without being paid for it)?

10 posts in this topic

if you are not being paid for it, I would imagine you can do it.   Generally Schwarzarbeit involves being paid.   Keep in mind payment might not be money, it could also be free food or transport, etc. 

disclaimer: I am not an expert in this area. 

Thanks. Do you think that the burden of proof would fall on me? I mean, besides the Kontoauszug, would I have to prove that I didn't receive any kind of payment at all?

my experience with the German criminal justice system is that even though the system is built around a presumption of innocence and the government being required to prove guilt, an Amtsgericht will pretty much rubber stamp whatever a Staatsanwalt wants even if s/he doesn't have what an objective observer might consider supporting evidence.  I suspect that goes triple for anything involving taxes or work authorization. 

and how would a Kontoauszug prove you didn't get paid?  How could anyone know how many accounts you or the payor has?  Or that you weren't paid in cash? 

You should get a Haftpflichtversicherung (private liability insurance), in case you fall off the stage and hurt someone. 

Will the band get paid? Then it would be hard to argue that you didn't receive any money for it, I think. 

On 27/07/2021 13:57:24, DoubleDTown said:

my experience with the German criminal justice system is that even though the system is built around a presumption of innocence and the government being required to prove guilt, an Amtsgericht will pretty much rubber stamp whatever a Staatsanwalt wants even if s/he doesn't have what an objective observer might consider supporting evidence.  I suspect that goes triple for anything involving taxes or work authorization. 

and how would a Kontoauszug prove you didn't get paid?  How could anyone know how many accounts you or the payor has?  Or that you weren't paid in cash?