Study options for US citizen with poor high school grades

4 posts in this topic

Hi all,

I graduated high school with very poor grades but I attended technical school afterwards where I graduated with relatively high grades (although my diploma isn't equivalent to anything in Germany). I then went on to university where I made pretty average grades until suffering something of a mental breakdown in my third year and torpedoed my GPA. Needless to say, I didn't finish my university studies and I haven't been back since because I can't afford the tuition/living expenses in my college town. I started thinking about studying in Germany last year shortly before I moving in with my boyfriend who lives in NRW.

Initially, I applied through Uni-Assist sort of expecting that I wouldn't be eligible to study in Germany at all. I got a letter back saying that my application needed further review as a decision couldn't be reached and a month later, a second letter saying I'd need to attend a Studienkolleg before studying directly. I spent a year taking language courses to meet the minimum language requirement for Studienkolleg and applied this spring. I was a little surprised to find that the Studienkolleg rejected me in an email saying that I didn't meet the minimum 3.0 GPA.

I guess I had the idea in my head that there's only one governing body evaluating foreign applications rather than individual entities that do their own thing after you've applied through Uni-Assist. Anyway, I'm feeling kind of stuck now. My bf and I are considering marriage and I don't know of any options there may be for foreigners living in Germany to gain a university entrance qualification or how long it would take.