Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Laser hair removal

10 posts in this topic

Hello , 

anyone knows any good laser hair removal salon or dermatologist that really works ? Tried one in the past but hair still standing ... 

i did a search in the forum but all the threads all way too old .. 

Hi, actually I have some knowledge about this (Krieg will grind his teeth :D ).

First, you have to be careful with your skin tone. Each skin tone requires different technologies. In extreme cases, dark skin tones can get a permanent burn.

Second, "laser" is not the right term. Sounds techy, but there are many hair removal options and laser is just one of them. Don't be fooled by thinking it's the best

Third, "IPL" (Pulsed light) is much more effective than laser for most skin tones. But it is also more painful.

Fourth, most of these techs require a good color contrast between hair and skin. A blond hair over a white skin won't work so well.

Fifth and most important: get professional help on this! Some people do this crap on the gym or on a crappy salon and then either results are crap or they get burned skin!

I can't point you to a good place. Back in Portugal I could point you to my father in law clinic (that's why I know about this topic).

26 minutes ago, MikeMelga said:

Hi, actually I have some knowledge about this (Krieg will grind his teeth :D ).

I think the whole of TT.. not just Krieg... 

First of all thanks for the reply ..

I tried Ipl last time ( I did 3-4 sessions )  but from what I have been told it’s not so effective as alexandrite or diode laser .. and in fact it was in a salon.. I might have to ask a dermatologist :) 

IPL needs to be proper dosed and the frequency chosen for your skin and hair type. Also the light bulbs (actually, the whole "head") must be replaced regularly, otherwise it loses efficacy. As they are very expensive, sometimes salons use them past recommended duration.