Self-employed or other non-employees moving to Germany after Jan 1st 2021

31 posts in this topic

I‘ve double and triple checked with TK and it is over and out for British and EU citizens or non-EU citizens moving to Germany from the UK as self-employed or non-employed/ living off savings etc.

You can no longer show proof you have been in the NHS to get into German public insurance as a voluntary member.

God help you if you can‘t get into private insurance either for health or financial reasons. Or both.

🙁

It is over.

I am a professional independent insurance broker and authorised advertiser. Contact me.

Hi John, So the time preceding the 31.12.2020 (when the UK was EU) no longer counts for qualifying for German insurance? It's as if the UK was never a part of Europe?

It will only work if registration in Germany was 31st Dec at the latest and an application now-ish and backdated, Paul. And proof of NHS membership!

And the same applies to EU and non-EU citizens who have been living in the UK till now...

I feel a bit sick right now.😟

I am a professional independent insurance broker and authorised advertiser. Contact me.

Very useful info.

Bit tangential question
Is there any other country in EU with NHS like system - just wondering.

Being a German citizen and a freelancer - I am wondering where can I move in EU with low taxes and HC costs (...a healthy naturalized German :)

Appreciate your inputs!

24 minutes ago, kapil354 said:

Very useful info.

Bit tangential question

Being a German citizen and a freelancer - I am wondering where can I move in EU with low taxes and HC costs (...a healthy naturalized German :)

Appreciate your inputs!

There are lots of EU comparison tables for your question- Google is your friend.

15 minutes ago, RedMidge said:

There are lots of EU comparison tables for your question- Google is your friend.

Sure Red! 
TT folks seem to have more and better insight. Just a small family I can trust.

I like Google stock though.