Reverse Charge Supply VAT and Brexit

17 posts in this topic

I currently work as an IT freelancer based in Germany. My primary client is a UK company who I have been invoicing with under VAT reverse charge supply for the last 8 months or so. From what I have read - even if there is a no-deal Brexit - this would still apply. However, I wondered if anyone could confirm that.

Cheers

@evildudette so this is probably a stupid follow-up question, but does that mean that @nsuffield should simply start adding German VAT on his invoices to his UK client then? I'm in a similar situation with two UK clients, and haven't seen any guidance re the end of the reverse VAT scheme yet.

On 14/11/2020, 15:48:53, nsuffield said:

I currently work as an IT freelancer based in Germany. My primary client is a UK company who I have been invoicing with under VAT reverse charge supply for the last 8 months or so. From what I have read - even if there is a no-deal Brexit - this would still apply.

I think you mean if there is no trade agreement for the future relationship between the UK and the EU. Brexit already happened and there was a deal - it was the Withdrawal Agreement. ;) The W.A. stays in place whatever happens trade-wise. 

But the UK is leaving the EU VAT area in any case at the end of the transition period, so my guess is that supplies to the UK from the EU from 1.1.21 should be zero-rated - pretty much the same as if you were supplying to any other non-EU VAT area destination such as Norway, Iceland, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Canada etc.

On 18/11/2020, 10:41:03, dstanners said:

@evildudette so this is probably a stupid follow-up question, but does that mean that @nsuffield should simply start adding German VAT on his invoices to his UK client then? I'm in a similar situation with two UK clients, and haven't seen any guidance re the end of the reverse VAT scheme yet.