Lost my job on Blue Card right before Niederlassungserlaubnis application

10 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I'm a non EU expat. I've been working at a startup company for the past 3 years with Bluecard. Recently I've been in process of applying for Niederlassungserlaubnis & awaiting Leben In Deutschland results. Today I was told that they'll terminate my contract.

I'm extremely stressed because of this since I'm just a few months away from getting Niederlassungserlaubnis. I'm not sure what to do in order to extend my stay in Germany.

I've read posts here advising people to report to ABH & applying for unemployment benefits.

My Questions are:

1. Is there a way to extend the 3 months window that's granted to search for another job?

2. When I find another job, will my current bluecard status stay intact. Meaning, will I be able to apply for Niederlassungserlaubnis after I clear the probation period at the new company?

3. Is there a way to change bluecard into some other kind of visa so that I can stay & keep looking for job in Germany in case 3 months are not sufficient?

a. If yes, would I've to wait for another 21-33 months to apply for Niederlassungserlaubnis or my current contributions would be accepted & won't have to wait another 21-33 months for Niederlassungserlaubnis after getting new bluecard.

4. If I get a job in Netherlands or anywhere else in Europe, can I use the same German bluecard or do I've to reinitiate the procedure there?

5. I've good amount of savings. Is there a way I can use them to my leverage & still get Niederlassungserlaubnis after termination?

6. Can my savings be of any help in my current situation?

I'm eagerly waiting for your feedback.

Best Regards

Hi,

let me share my my experience and that of my friends I have helped on this...not that I am an legal expert.
You said you been in DE 3 years, so if you have a basic level of language skills (A1) you should be able to apply now.