US expat who've been filing my taxes, but literally just learned about FBAR filing

10 posts in this topic

Am I too late?

I moved to Germany in winter of 2016 for graduate school, transferred to a German bank acct just the minimum required (around €16k give or take, for two years) and had a part time job, but as the gross income did not exceed the IRS specified amount I was informed I wouldn't have to file taxes. I graduated in spring of 2019 and started working, and yes, I filed US federal and state, claiming the foreign tax credit.

Then I literally just stumbled upon FBAR filing whilst reading an online article, and, well, guess I'm screwed? 2016 and 2017 I held a foreign account >10k USD, perhaps for a year or two the account dipped below 10k as I was finishing my thesis, and then this year it went above 10k again. But the question is: Do I still run the risk of getting penalized for filing the FBAR retroactively for previous years?

When I wrote mine it was more the latter. “Had no idea, I promise to never forget this again etc”

worked just fine, and my tax people also approved that it was appropriate. 

3 hours ago, Pandekage said:

Thanks. Any idea as to how detailed the explanation for delinquent filing has to be? Something in lawyer-speak, or literally "I had no idea, was a bright-eyed expat :( "?

Short and to the point is best.  

11 minutes ago, Space Cowboy said:

Short and to the point is best.  

Don´t spout your anti-TT propaganda here.:lol:

11 hours ago, willowhands said:

When I wrote mine it was more the latter. “Had no idea, I promise to never forget this again etc”

worked just fine, and my tax people also approved that it was appropriate. 

Glad it turned out alright. Is this something simple enough to do your/myself, esp. given my situation? i.e. as a student working part time, only last year working full time.