Mortgage extension for non-resident

15 posts in this topic

I took out a mortgate on a neubau purchased in November 2014, at the time I was a resident in Germany.  I left in 2016.

Due to me being a freelancer, I was offered a relatively short-term mortgate of 10 years (fixed rate, from Commerzbank), so it terminates in November 2024.

As I would plan to sell the property in 2025 (to avoid the taxes) I am concerned about the mortgate expiring.  When I last spoke to the bank manager he said that I would be offered an extension automatically in the year before it ends.  However, what I dont want to take on is another long term fixed rate one, as then I would have the pay a large fee to terminate early when I sell it.  Im assuming however, that I wont be able to shop around for an alternative as I wont be a resident.

Does anyone have any information or experience in such a situation?  Or if you know of companies that specilise in providing mortgages to non-residents, then that would also be useful.

At the current level of interest rates I wouldn´t be too worried about taking out a longer term one. Firstly, it´s unlikely that rates will be even lower in 2024 (which means any prepayment penalty will be low or even zero) and secondly, whoever buys your property might be happy to be able to take it over from you (assuming rates won´t be even lower by then).

I took two mortgages spread over 4 apartments in 2008 with interest fixed for 15 years at about 5.4%. Back then it seemed like a good idea to lock such a low interest rate.

I renegotiated them at the start of 2019 while no longer resident in Germany. Interest is now less than 2% although I've ramped Tilgung up to 7% so I'm actually paying more monthly.