Mortgage enquiry refused despite high EK- freelancing for less than 3yr

19 posts in this topic

Hi Together,

Both me and my partner are EU members, she is actually German.

She works as a permanent with a yearly compensation of +35k brutto, and I have been freelancing for 2 years in IT on some extremely rewarding projects.

We applied for a 300k mortgage with 90k capital, and I was told by a broker that is tied to Allianz but said he checked with hundreds of banks, that I have no choice but to wait at least another year before I could possibly get a mortgage.

Problem is that the property we are keen on buying (for our own use, in Hamburg) will not wait a whole year for us.

Is there really no hope for freelancers who didn't pass the 3yr criteria, no matter what?

Any advice on capable brokers who could guarantee getting a mortgage offer for us would be much appreciated

I don't know if it is obligatory or not , but as an IT freelancer I was also told that despite high income I should ask after I had completed 3 years.

After 3 years with good income and if possible steady and increasing , things are quite easier.

I would recommend that you go to an independent Broker not tied to a bank to explain it correctly . I went to Interhyp and Dr.Klein, both were very good, explained everything and gave 3-4 very good offers. If only it was easier to find the right house... :D

Good luck

22 minutes ago, Alexnf said:

I don't know if it is obligatory or not , but as an IT freelancer I was also told that despite high income I should ask after I had completed 3 years.

After 3 years with good income and if possible steady and increasing , things are quite easier.

I would recommend that you go to an independent Broker not tied to a bank to explain it correctly . I went to Interhyp and Dr.Klein, both were very good, explained everything and gave 3-4 very good offers. If only it was easier to find the right house... :D

Good luck

Thanks for the response.