Neighbours musicians

25 posts in this topic

Hi guys and girls.

The story is like this.

I just moved to a new apartment and figured out that my neighbours are students of music academy. They study piano. Both of them
They play the whole day, even on weekends. I've tried to talk with them, I was polite and everything, but they were like "This is your problem".

I am a software engineer and work from home, so I need it to be quiet. And even if I wasn't, I still think that I have a right for peace in the apartment that I pay for.

The agency, that I rent an apartment from, didn't tell me anything about the noise, although I've asked them about it
I have a contract for minimum 1 year of rent, so I can't cancel it. Also, I think it will be hard to find somebody to subrent this place with such neighbours.

I was wandering what is the law for musicians in Berlin. I couldn't get it from previous topics in this forum and they are pretty old. Maybe there are some updates for it?
Or maybe I can cancel the rent somehow? Somebody have any advice?

I don't know German, so I can't go to Tenant Association. I thought about going to lawyer, but how expensive it can be in Berlin?

You can play a music instrument from one to three hours per day except very loud instruments (acoustic drums).

Maybe you could invest in some good quality noise cancelling headphones.

Here are some pertinent articles on the Berlin city website. You can use Google Translate or DeepL to translate the whole piece.

https://www.berlin.de/special/immobilien-und-wohnen/mietrecht/3407416-739654-musizieren-in-der-wohnung-darf-zeitlich-.html

Playing music in the apartment - for instance  the Bavarian Higher Regional Court decided that piano may be played a maximum of three hours a day. The quality of the music is not a factor!

https://www.berlin.de/special/immobilien-und-wohnen/mietrecht/2967503-739654-musizieren-in-der-wohnung-wann-ist-es-er.html