Should I sign this Kurzarbeit agreement?

14 posts in this topic

I work for this IT company, which actually is not doing too bad at the moment. However, they expect their pipeline to dry up/thin out because of the Corona crisis. In order to be prepared for the worst, they have asked all employees to sign a Kurzarbeit Individualvereinbarung, since there is no Betriebsrat. The agreement gives them the right to announce Kurzarbeit for the period of one year, up to 100% reduction.

I have no experience in this area, but it feels odd to me to basically give them the right to withhold 33% (I have children) of my paycheck for a year, without me having any form of control over it. After I sign it, there is no way for me to agree or check if they really did all they could have to reduce costs in another way.

I understand what Kurzarbeit is and I understand that it is probably better than being laid off; but my question is:

Do you think this is a fair agreement, considering that at the moment things aren't going too bad? Would you sign it?

Here is the text of the agreement (company name removed):

Vereinbarung zu Kurzarbeit 

Aufgrund der Corona-Pandemie und den Auswirkungen auf die gesamte Weltwirtschaft müssen wir davon ausgehen, dass auch unsere Kunden vor großen wirtschaftlichen Herausforderungen stehen und daher vorerst zurückhaltender in Innovationsprojekte investieren als bisher. Dies hätte zur Folge, dass sich auch unsere Auftragslage vorübergehend verschlechtert und wir nicht ausreichend ausgelastet sind. 

Auch wenn bislang nicht absehbar ist, ob und in welchen Umfang <Arbeitgeber> Kurzarbeit benötigen wird und ab welchem Zeitpunkt, schließen die Parteien vor diesem Hintergrund die folgende Vereinbarung: