Bullied at work during the probation period

23 posts in this topic

I need some advice please.

I'm not articulate in general, in any language including my mother tongue, so when I get bullied I really don't know how to speak up or defend myself in the moment or at all. I just typically look dumb.

I'm new to a job and depend on a colleague to show me and teach me things. It is a work place which has a pretty steep learning curve. Lots of stuff and lots of details to learn and remember, not to mention I haven't worked for years in this sector.

This colleague is rude and critical, always irritated by me and she does not hide her disdain. Just being around her is hard. She says my attitude is poor and I don't care about my work whenever I can't remember something. She displays frustration whenever I have to ask her for something. I'm trying my best and working hard, but I'm new and I don't know things. I'm sad to admit that this is totally affecting my confidence and it makes it harder to learn. I'm extremely depressed and dread going to work everyday. She is indispensable because she is keeping things running and she complains about my attitude to the boss and he listens to her. It doesn't help that my work is suffering because of her. Does this constitute bullying? Do I have any rights given that I'm still on the probationary period of 6 months?

This job is so important to me. I gave up a lot to move here and I was feeling so optimistic about this opportunity. But just one person is making my life hell here. I feel sad and worry about going to work everyday, and I'm so depressed I have not tried to make any friends or do anything here in Germany. I know I should be tougher but I'm just not.

1 hour ago, Murdock said:

Start looking for a new job.

She is indispensable because she is keeping things running and she complains about my attitude to the boss and he listens to her. It doesn't help that my work is suffering because of her. Does this constitute bullying?