Landlords complaining about apartment when giving viewings

6 posts in this topic

I've been renting an apartment for two years with no problems, friendly landlords, came every six months to renew the contact, had no complaints about the apartment etc, everything okay.

I told them that I was looking to move in with my other half and they agreed to extend the contract, but had no problem if I would terminate it early, as long as they had three or four weeks notice. 

I was then back home due to unfortunate family circumstances, and my other half called to say that we had got the new apartment, I called my landlords and told them that I would be moving out at the end of the month.  They were fine with it, and asked when I would be back so they could arrange viewings.  I told them that I'd be back in a week.  Then two days before I was due to come home they texted to ask if they could show my apartment.  I said no, as I had left in a rush, it was a chaotic day and I wasnt sure how the apartment was.  They said it didnt matter, but it was important that they got entry.  I said again no, as I wasnt sure if I had my personal things left around and obviously I dont want strangers going into the apartment when my stuffs lying about. 

We agreed a time to visit a few days after I was back, I had flown back one day and was straight into work the next, and due to the long shifts, I only had a few hours in the evening to sort things.  I then got a message a day before the viewing saying that the potential tenant was in town today and could they go into my apartment.  I said okay, because I thought I was being nice and doing them a favour, letting them show it, but told them it wasnt perfect as I wasnt expecting them until tomorrow and I was already in work.  About an hour after the visit they sent me a shitty text message to say that they werent happy that the apartment was chaotic and they hope that it wont be like that for the termin the day after!