Getting the Citizenship after studying/living in Germany but having 1 semester studying abroad

5 posts in this topic

Hey people! 

I have a big question. 
Right now I'm studying my Bachelor here in Germany (Berlin) and my program requires me to do either an internship abroad or a semester abroad but I have decided to apply for a citizenship after my studies and after living in Germany for about 7ish years. I've already been living in Germany for 2 years, this year would be my third, but now that I have received a confirmation of my exchange semester I am wondering if my 2 years that I was already living here would be thrown away after I come back from the semester abroad. 
Unfortunately I can't keep my apartment where I'm currently living during my stay abroad, therefore I would officially need to do the abmeldung and once I come back (after 5 months) do the anmeldung in my new address. 

I know that the main requirement to get the citizenship is to be living in Germany for about 6-8 years under a visa/residence permit. 

Do you know if by studying abroad for one semester my two years would be wasted? 

I will still be enrolled in my Germany university while studying, so I guess it could be a grey area... 

Thank you for your comments guys!

8 hours ago, indianajoneseg said:

Do you know if by studying abroad for one semester my two years would be wasted? 

Is the answer really going to make a difference to your plans? If you might have to wait longer to qualify for citizenship are you going to give up the chance for an exchange semester? 

This document says:

Seit der Reform des Staatsangehörigkeitsrechts im Jahr 2000 besitzen Personen, die seit mindestens acht Jah­ren rechtmäßig ihren gewöhnlichen Aufenthalt in Deutschland haben, bei Erfüllung bestimm­ter Voraussetzungen einen Anspruch auf Einbürgerung (§ 10 Abs. 1 StAG).