Cholesterol values - question for the Doctors

83 posts in this topic

Any doctor here?

I'm 46 and by all standard have been (still are) extremely cardiovascularly fit because of sport for the last 30+ year. I also have the healthiest nutrition (most people would say the most boring).

Just checked the cholesterol values and I was surprised they are slightly off.

Cholesterin in Serum: 242 (optimum: less than 200)

HDL-Cholesterin im Serum: 77 (optimum: more than 60)

LDL Cholesterin (direktmess.): 161 (optimum: less than 130)

Tryglicerdide im Serum: 208 (optimum: less than 150)

Glukose im Pharma: 104 (optimum: 74-99)

What to make of it?:blink:

Cholesterol is also dependent on your diet, and some people are more susceptible to higher levels than others.

Exercise can help reduce it, but can't stop it totally.  

If you have any concern then you should ask the doctor who done the test.

Why don't you ask your doc?

I am not a doctor...

However, I am very wary of figures and statistics.  We are not robots or all identical. Increase in cholesterol seems to be a normal/typical feature of ageing. There was a proposal a few years back in the UK to systematically ("prophylactically") put anyone over the age of 50 on statins. Dunno if or how far that was implemented. But what madness. Great for the pharma industry of course. You may bring your values down if you go on the tablets, but your liver will have something else to metabolise...

Wait till you start doing PDA tests for prostate cancer screening. This figure may be an indicator of cancer. Or not! Half of the poor chaps thrown into panic mode are not sick. But they are robbed of their peace of mind.