Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Tax refund specific questions

2 posts in this topic

Hi, I know there are a ton of topics on this but I want to ask because I don't want to make a mistake following instructions and end up losing this money.

My specific situation is that I'm a PhD student who started in March 2019; technically I am employed by the university as a research assistant for the purposes of my pay.

When I moved here, I had a lot of issues related to registration and getting a tax ID (It took longer than expected), so the first 3 months of my pay were taxed at a much higher rate than was supposed to.

My employer tells me that I "just have to fill out a tax refund" and I'll get back the approx. 1500 EUR that I was over-taxed for. Since I am a computational biologist, I also had to buy two computers (laptop as well as a powerful desktop for simulations. This is mostly a work machine even though it has 'gaming' components, I needed the power for the suite of computational tools I run), and apparently I can claim back the tax here too. Given the price of these items, I would love to claim back if I could. My receipts are electronic so I imagine I will need print-outs of these.

I've done tax refunds before back home for work related expenses, so the computers shouldn't be much of an issue. But I am really worried about the stuff I was over-taxed for, since it represents a sizeable amount of money and I've been squeezed for budget all last year as a result. (I really wish my employer had found a way to not tax me that high), and my New Zealand student loan repayment is coming up in March.

Anyway, I really could use some specific help here pertaining to the over-tax - when I landed I was scammed out of 1200 Euros because of me misunderstanding things and I'm currently on a knife edge financially.

Apologies for being so needy.