Living in Wiesbaden vs Mainz

6 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, 

I currently live in Munich but will be moving later this year for a Praktikum in Wiesbaden. I am a student from the US in my late 20's so was hoping I could get some advice on which city would be better to live. Granted I would guess either will be cheaper than Munich but in general is Mainz cheaper than Wiesbaden? I would be looking at WG rooms or 1 room apartments if any are available in my price range (hoping to spend no more than 350 a month) Also as far as social life which would be better for someone of student age? I understand that Mainz is a bit more a student city so my assumption that it would be the better place to live but wondering if the differences would justify a commute. If anyone can give some advice that would be great.

Thank you

Wiesbaden is definitely more expensive.  But the difference is less than it used to be and the gap is closing.  

I think for 350 euros you will have to look for a WG.  A one room apartment for that price in either city is not realistic

Yes, Mainz is a Uni-city and I always think that it has a different grungier vibe compared to Wiesbaden but to be honest I can't really comment on the night-life as I am beyond that now!  The cities are close enough that you can live in one and party in the other, although you need to watch out for public transport (or pay for a taxi!)

Also, be aware that commuting between the two can be tough and take time because of the river and limited bridges.  They are also about the close (today?) one of the bridges for traffic for several months which will make things worse short term (although it stays open for public transport).  And another bridge is being totally rebuilt and has had major roadworks for years, with still a few more to go!

You could always live in Mainz-Kastel.  It has Mainz in the name but is actually part of Wiesbaden :)