US to start revoking passports of American expats with tax debts

15 posts in this topic

So, it seems that around 389k US-nationals around the world have received some unpleasant letters from the IRS that their US passport might become revoked due to tax debts.

Read more about this here:

https://www.internationalinvestment.net/news/4005562/us-start-revoking-passports-american-expats-tax-debts?utm_source=Adestra&utm_medium=email&utm_term=&utm_content=&utm_campaign=New%20Newsletter%20-%20Special%20Report%201&utm_campaignid=6026&utm_cmdid=123483

5dfcbc03f136f_UStaxdebts.JPG.6311985173d

Since we are specialized in offering financial/investment advice to US Expats who live in Germany, we do also have an excellent network of tax advisors who are specialized in assisting such clients with their US-taxation issues. Happy to help if you want... :-)

Cheerio

I am a professional independent insurance broker, financial adviser, and authorised advertiser. Contact me.

Is it cheaper than trying to give the passport up by yourself ? Asking for a (my) child. This worldwide taxation bit wouldn't be so bad if you didn't need a professional to deal with the paperwork - this should be simple. Bah.

Good thinking. It costs a record amount of $2,350 to renounce it yourself. So, this might be an option for Americans with dual citizenship who have no income from th US.

1 hour ago, LukeSkywalker said:

this might be an option for Americans with dual citizenship who have no income from th US.

If they have no income, how would they owe taxes? OK, they could have owed for a long time. 

Do you think they would ever be able to travel to the U.S. on their other passports?

28 minutes ago, fraufruit said:

If they have no income, how would they owe taxes? OK, they could have owed for a long time. 

Americans are taxed on worldwide income, not just US income.  So it is entirely possible to owe taxes without having an income in the US.