Any scientists here? Need a reality check regarding jobs

31 posts in this topic

Hi Toytown,

It's my first time posting, but I have a feeling I'll be coming back here a lot :)

I am a 30 year old US citizen in a long-distance serious relationship with a lovely German woman, and I am about to attempt to move to Germany to be with her. I am of South Asian descent and have a Muslim name.

I hold a PhD in electrical engineering from an Ivy League university and my research is in an area that has more overlap with theoretical/computational physics than it does with electrical engineering. I am currently employed at a well-known tech company and have 2 years of experience working there with the job title of 'software engineer'.

There are no jobs (anywhere in the world) directly in the stuff that I did my PhD in because of its theoretical nature, but jobs in the semiconductor, optics, and computational fields could have varying degrees of overlap with my skillset. Thanks to my current job, I have 2 years of experience coding in C++ and Python, but I don't have any experience in the burgeoning field of machine learning and AI. I say this to give you an idea that while I have a lot of education and even real world experience, I'm not exactly a typical candidate for most jobs that I see.

Now to my actual questions...

1. If I move to Germany and get married to my girlfriend, is it reasonable to expect that I could get a job in one of the larger cities within 6 months? I'm mostly worried that the combination of an academic leaning PhD with relatively recent software skills might make me too weird for the German market.

2. How closely am I expected to stick to either my PhD focus or to my 'software engineering' title when applying for new jobs? I ask this because in the U.S., it's often okay to apply in neighboring fields, and it's okay if you don't have all the listed skills.