Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

I have a legal dispute with a relocation consultant and am looking for advice as I'm new to the country

15 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I moved to Munich from the UK for a new job around six weeks ago. My employer provided a handbook to help expats with the move and suggested a relocation consultant. In the handbook was a price list with services offered.

I decided to use this consultant and had conversations and emails detailing my requirements for an apartment search. Her services were to arrange and accompany me to viewings (5), liaise with landlords and agents, coordinate deposit payment, accompany me to handover of keys, provide a summary of the rental contract in English, help setting up basic utilities, help setting up internet; mobile phone and TV fee and also setup insurances.

The consultant arranged and accompanied me to 4 viewings, from which I applied for and was declined twice. The others were unsuitable. I then found my own flat independently and stopped using the relocation services entirely. (Only 1 of the 4 viewings met the requirements that I provided initially).

I was then presented with an invoice for the full price of a premium relocation search package, the price for which nor selection of package had not been discussed at all prior to engaging with the consultant. The invoice also omitted discounts for all of the services not carried out by the consultant.  

After explaining this to the consultant and offering a reasonable, reduced amount for services actually rendered, they refused and discounted Eur 150 from the initial price. Another, higher offer was made by me, which was also refused. I then received a letter from their lawyer demanding payment.

I feel that I am being exploited but don't have any legal background to support this and wonder if it is worth fighting. The amount in question is EUR 1595.

Any advice at all would be welcomed.