Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Involuntary commitment to a mental hospital

12 posts in this topic

I have been involuntarily commited for 6 months. For a suicide attempt. I am not suicidal anymore. How do I get out? I have tried emailing some lawyers, they havent replied back. I am an intetnational student with no german language skills. This is a big problem for me.

If you actually attempted suicide then I think six months is a minimum before you can really say that you are no longer suicidal.  Take care of yourself and give yourself time to heal.  Take advantage of the services that you are offered.  

2 hours ago, Pantherstar said:

I have been involuntarily commited for 6 months.

This is not clear: Has the six months just started or ended?

2 hours ago, Pantherstar said:

I am not suicidal anymore.

Likewise:  Is this your determination or the doctor's?

OK. Read this carefully! Demand a Patientenfürsprecher !!

Ein Patientenfürsprecher ist ein unabhängiger und meist ehrenamtlich tätiger Ansprechpartner für die Patienten einer Klinik. Er hört auf mögliche Wünsche, nimmt Kritik oder Lob entgegen und versucht, bei Beschwerden eine Lösung zu finden. Der Patientenfürsprecher ist in das betriebliche Beschwerdemanagement der Klinik eingebunden, aber kein Mitarbeiter des Krankenhauses. In den meisten Bundesländern ist seine Berufung im Krankenhausgesetz geregelt. In Nordrhein-Westfalen, Niedersachsen, Hessen, dem Saarland und Berlin ist jedes Krankenhaus zu einem unabhängigen Patientenfürsprecher verpflichtet.