Eviction due to problems with flatmates

15 posts in this topic

I am a male student living in a private WG for more than 10 months that is shared with 2 other female students. I have a contract in my name directly with the landlord.

Recently, I had an argument on Whatsapp Group with the other flatmates on an issue of using Kitchen space. I used a sarcastic tone but without any explicit offensive language. However, the girls got really emotional, left the group and complained to the landlord about me. 2 days later, I received a warning letter from landlord for misbehaving with flatmates and that if I repeat it again, my contract will be terminated. On this, I had a chat with landlord on Whatsapp and I told that I am willing to leave the apartment in one month given that I can find an alternate place. Later on, landlord followed up on the status and I explained that I am having a difficulty in finding a new place. On this, he got furious and started threatening me via Whatsapp messages by saying that as I am living with women, he can easily get me kicked out by involving court and police.

I did not have any verbal or physical fight with my flatmates. Only chat we had is saved on Whatsapp group and to be honest, I can absolutely find nothing threatening or criminal in that. I would like to know, if my landlord really can get me in trouble on this issue? I told him that I do not want to take it up to court, however, he does not seem to budge. I am thinking about reporting it to police first before he gets me into a fake case by making up a story. My flatmates are not speaking to me at all and I am sure they will take side with the landlord. Any suggestions on what are my options here?

That is a truckload of bull, all of it.

Are you the Hauptmieter? Is this a furnished or unfurnished apartment? Is it a limited term contract?

As always in this case - join the Mieterverein (tenants' rights organization) in your town! It is an absolute must in Germany.