Want to move to Berlin from UK, Advice Needed

9 posts in this topic

Hello

Im in my 30s, single mum to a teenage boy. I currently work as a front end website developer so I am capable of supporting myself financially. I have been to Berlin this year, and really liked the atmosphere and culture.  

I have started to learn some basic German, but am in no way fluent at the moment, but I am willing to learn as much as I can.

I really want to leave the UK with my son, to give him a better education and an improved way of life. I also need a fresh start in my life, and for some reason after visiting Berlin I was drawn to the area.

I needed some advice if someone would be kind enough to help me out please. 

1. Where is a reasonably priced area to live that is outside of Berlin? I need to be a close distance for commuting.

2. Is it possible to find a decent paying job for front end website development work as an English speaker, learning German?

3. Are there any agencies that I can sign up to?

4. Are there bilingual schools for teenagers around Berlin?

Thanks in advance

Sarah 

Oh dear, comparing a holiday to living in Berlin is like trying to compare apples and oranges, the 2 just don't go.

Here's a couple of things you need to first be aware of, there's no NHS here and you are legally required to have Health Insurance, you cannot use your EHIC card if you are registered as living here.

Regardless of your financial situation you will find it almost impossible to rent a flat anywhere without a job.

What makes you think your son will get a better education if you don't even know there are bilingual schools in Berlin, to answer that question, yes there are.

Personally, I'd advise you to use the search function top right as all and every question you will have has most definitely been asked on this forum. 

Last but not least there's still the issue of Brexit, have you given any thought as to how that might affect you.

1 hour ago, catsarecute said: