Language School Visa Expiring Soon, Want to Start Working, Job Seeker Visa Possible? Or Other Options?

8 posts in this topic

As the title suggests, I am currently here on a language school visa, which is expiring in mid-November. I started looking for jobs a few weeks ago but haven't found anything yet so I am exploring my options to stay in the country to continue looking for a job. I was planning on getting the "Job Seeker" visa next but I can't figure out if I am able to after I'm here on a different visa (it is unclear and inconsistent from the government and other websites). Does anyone know if it is possible?

If not, what are my options? I am an American Data Science professional with several years of experience and a Bachelor's degree in Business Informatics from a top-ranked university.

I really appreciate any help or guidance anyone can provide. Thank you!!

It is possible. A friend of mine has done it. He couldn't have found a job before his language school visa expired, and towards the end of his duration, he applied for a job seeker visa and received it. The only thing to consider is that, he wasn't allowed to apply for this visa in Germany, and was told, he could only apply it from his home country, which he then did. 

As you are American, it could perhaps be possible to file the application without leaving, but needs to be confirmed.

I also understood you have to apply for the job seeker visa from your home country otherwise too many people would enter the country with a language school visa although the first objective is to land a job here.

22 minutes ago, TurMech said:

It is possible. A friend of mine has done it. He couldn't have found a job before his language school visa expired, and towards the end of his duration, he applied for a job seeker visa and received it.

Amazing! This is exactly my situation and such a relief. Thank you for your quick response!

6 minutes ago, LukeSkywalker said: