Planning for retirement

7 posts in this topic

Hi,

I have moved to Germany a couple of years ago and haven't had a great deal of thought about retirement in Germany. As a freelancer, I am not paying into the German system so, as someone who's turning now 38 I should probably think about what I will do in 30 yrs time. What are my options? I have been accumulating my savings (about 30% of my income) into the stock market, auxmoney.com, and a no-interest savings account. I have heard about privat rentenvorsorge (or privat rentenversicherung). Are these worth a look or should I just put the money into some sort of long term investment options instead?

Kind regards,

Paulo

An option could be that you return to Portugal upon retirement where the Euro goes a bit further than Germany with better climate, food and wine as well.

26 minutes ago, LukeSkywalker said:

An option could be that you return to Portugal upon retirement where the Euro goes a bit further than Germany with better climate, food and wine as well.

Not sure my German wife would appreciate that suggestion! :)

saving and simply investing is always a good start. However, a pension assurance offers life-long payouts regardless of how long you'll live whereas accumulated capital will only reach as long as your pay-out plan allows. 

That is why setting up some pension plan can make a lot of sense - you'll protect yourself against the "risk" of longevity,  strange as it may sound to consider this a "risk".

As a self-employed you don't have many options to invest into the German public pension system (and many would doubt the sense of doing so probably). Which leaves you with two main options:

1 ) a RÜRUP pension plan that comes with some tax benefits on one hand but also works exactly like a public pension in so far that you cannot take out the capital again and also can't cash in when you reach retirement... you'll receive a monthly pension for the rest of your life instead.