De-Registration in Bremen

10 posts in this topic

Hi there,

I am a Canadian and I lived in Bremen from Feburary - June 2019, and I came home to Canada from July-October 2019, and I will return to Bremen in October 2019. I did not deregister before I left Bremen in June because I knew I would be coming back - is this ok? Or should i deregister now (I believe I can mail in the forms?), and register again when I go back?

I had a visa for my first trip and will get a second visa for my next visit in October. When I return, I will be living in the same flat, just a different room - does this mean I need to register this as an address change? 

Thanks for any help!!

Becky

No, I purchased a private health insurance for my first visit and will purchase it again to cover the time for my second visit. Apparently, according to the university, since I'm a PhD student, I do not require public health insurance.

18 hours ago, rbreau said:

No, I purchased a private health insurance for my first visit and will purchase it again to cover the time for my second visit. Apparently, according to the university, since I'm a PhD student, I do not require public health insurance.

That's pretty bad/lazy advice. Whoever told you that is probably themselves clueless. Do you have any kind of job at the uni? Doctoral positions usually come with some sort of paid work. If that's the case, then I would get on one of the standard German insurers than some private travel insurance, even if you don't 'require' it.

Or are you simply 'visiting'? What kind of visa did you enter on?

On 2019-09-06, 8:01:27, alderhill said:

That's pretty bad/lazy advice. Whoever told you that is probably themselves clueless. Do you have any kind of job at the uni? Doctoral positions usually come with some sort of paid work. If that's the case, then I would get on one of the standard German insurers than some private travel insurance, even if you don't 'require' it.