Move to South Bavaria???

47 posts in this topic

Hi there, I know this is a very broad question whether to move to Germany or not!? Just looking for people's helpful opinions from their experiences etc.

I am English, wife is Bavarian from Chiemsee. Both in our mid thirties. I am a carpenter she works in Pharma. 3 kids, ages 6,4 and 1. My German is not as good as it should be but am confident of learning pretty swiftly!!

Any input on practical elements of Moving, kids schooling and property buying would be really helpful. Message me privately if required and i can give more details etc. Thanks again!

3 hours ago, Habediehre said:

Any input on practical elements of Moving, kids schooling and property buying would be really helpful. 

"Any input" is a little very vague, don't you think? I would start looking for a job, do you already have jobs? And for everything else there are hundreds of threads, FAQs and so on. Please just use the forum search (top right of the page) and read in a bit. And then maybe ask more concrete questions. 

Sorry Somenones daughter. Yes I know it sounded vague! Never asked a stranger for advice before and am new to these forums. Biggest thing for us would be affording the property in Chiemsee area and schooling. And a lot of the other elements regarding practical things I can use the search bar.

Thank you for replying

18 minutes ago, Habediehre said:

Sorry Somenones daughter. Yes I know it sounded vague! Never asked a stranger for advice before and am new to these forums. Biggest thing for us would be affording the property in Chiemsee area and schooling. And a lot of the other elements regarding practical things I can use the search bar.

Thank you for replying

All depends on what you're looking for. The area is rather expensive, but houses with a view of the lake are quite different in price from a flat in Wasserburg (30km from the lake). School is only acute for the oldest child, does it speak German?