Moving to Germany: Local contract vs. expat contract

25 posts in this topic

Hello...

My company (German company) is talking about moving me to Germany. I'm currently on international assignment in China. My "home" country is the US.

So... I'm on the site trying to get a feel for what all is involved with this kind of move to Germany. I've never worked in Europe before, but I'm looking forward to it.

We have two teenage kids, so we're looking at school options in Frankfurt area. Also we're weighing whether to get an apartment closer to downtown or a bigger place farther on the outskirts.

The company is saying that they want to put me on a "local contract" from the beginning. It seems that there are advantages and disadvantages to doing that, at least on the surface. I'm trying to read up on German labor and immigration/residency laws. One big difference is that with an expat contract I'd have full medical coverage paid by the company, versus a "local contract" would provide some version of "standard" German health insurance.

One possible advantage is that my salary presumably would be "marked to market" based on German pay scales. But I'm getting mixed information - i.e. it seems for some jobs and at some seniority levels salaries in Germany are lower than US salaries ("junior" level programmers), while for others, salaries (more senior / exec-level people) in Germany seem in a higher range. I'm still not sure if my arbitrary classifications are correct, even heuristically. In case I can negotiate a higher salary, then losing some of the typical expat allowances (housing subsidy, for example) wouldn't be a big thing.

Anyway, I've posted a few questions in other threads and thought I'd come on here and introduce myself a bit. Looking forward to getting to know everybody more...