Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Where can I purchase LMU PhD robes?

19 posts in this topic

I don't know if there's anyone here on this site who would remember me from about a million years ago, when the site was still called Toytown Munich, but if anyone I know is here...hello!

I'm looking for some advice on where to purchase a set of LMU PhD regalia (aka cap and gown). Is it possible to buy this online somewhere? The LMU shop seems to be, like at most universities, a shop for t-shirts, hoodies, and graduation gifts. I'm ideally looking for a place where I can order these online to be sent to Australia, however I do have friends in Munich who may be able to purchase them in person, if that's the only option.

Can anyone help? Thanks in advance.

Did you ask your professor? Or contact the shop at info@merch.de . Don't you normally rent one since it's just for one day? I sure didn't buy one when I graduated in Manchester.

Hi IPJ! Will you be wearing them every year at annual commencement ceremonies?  Yeah, ask your Doktormutter or Vater. Or student services. 

https://capsandgownsdirect.com/doctoralform.html looks like they do robes from a bunch of different schools.  Maybe all manufacturers do.  There's not that much variety, after all -- you need to know what color your subject wears, if your hat's supposed to be square or octagonal, soft or a plate, etc... 

Not sure that custom is the same here. When I finished it was a defense, round of cake and champagne (okay, Rotkappchen), and back to work.

The colleagues did make me a funny hat...

Hi Gen! Thanks for the suggestion. I’ll check them out.