Can you convert a spouse visa because your splitting up

10 posts in this topic

my partner and I got married almost two years ago, both American. We are now in the situation that my partner wants to split up. I do not, but we have to get the visa renewed in three months. They had a student visa and now getting a work visa and after two years can apply for citizenship/ permanent residence. Do I have the right

1. to get my visa renewed with them? We will be living apart (if I find a place to live) for a month

2. if I can't renew my visa can I convert it to a Freelancer Visa (an idea I've been toying around with in my head, as I am an artist)?

2b. If i can get a freelancer Visa can I also work a 20 hour job too (so that I get my health insurance)?

Any information would be helpful and I have looked here and google and cannot find an answer.

Sorry to hear your personal situation. Separation of all kind is painful.

1. Nevertheless, as far as I can understand your situation, if you and your partner are still together 'on paper' i.e. 'officially', then you can apply for visa extension with your partner. Also depends on what kind of visa your partner is seeking. Of course, you need to do it with the consent of your partner.

2a. Freelancer Visa is not as easy as it might sound like. You must have extensive documentation. Everything boils down to the question of 'livelihood' and 'health insurance'. The Ausländersbehörde must be convinced that you have those two things sorted out. Moreover, you must present a plan to them, regarding how you want to move ahead with your freelancing idea.