Discriminatory speech and bullyng by landlord

72 posts in this topic

Dear folks, 

I am a student (2nd sem Master) in RWTH Aachen from Nepal. I rented a wg zimmer during the beginning of my first semester. At the time, I didn't know that the room he is renting is actually illegal. It is just a modified garage and sleeping is not allowed. The roof of this garage (he calls hobby raum) is not designed for strong rain and snow and the water enters easily. I mentioned him several times before, but water still leaks everytime it rains heavy. Some days before, during storm and rain, water leaked inside and destroyed my laptop. I was outside in kaufland when it happened. When I mentioned this to him, his email was:

For such a strong storm as the other day, the roof construction is not designed. Be glad that you are not in Kathmandu, there the houses are flooded.

I find this extremely sad and rude. I didnot expect this to happen in germany. I lost my mother during earthquake and natural disasters are very sentimental for me. I am immediately moving out of this place and temporarily living with my friend. Obviously, I want to have my kaution back for new renting. How should I proceed, folks? This landlord lives in the same house and entered into my room without my permission several times. I have 3 documented proofs of such happening. Now, this is too much. 

I am hoping for your feedbacks. 

Thank you for reading it.

@RedMidge 

Thank you for your feedback. I wanted to first ask my landlord deposit back and if he doesn't respond positively, report to mieterverein. Should I just go to mieterverein without asking deposit first?

6 hours ago, Eraaa said:

@RedMidge 

Thank you for your feedback. I wanted to first ask my landlord deposit back and if he doesn't respond positively, report to mieterverein. Should I just go to mieterverein without asking deposit first?