Permanent residence for freelancers

8 posts in this topic

Dear all,

I have been freelancing in Berlin as translator for 4.5 years with a freelancer visa. I don't have public pension as it isn't mandatory for freelancers. I just contribute the TK public insurance. I am getting married soon with my fiance who is an European citizen (non-German). I am thinking to apply for permanent residence once I reach my 5-year stay in Germany and wonder what's the best way to do. My questions are as follows and I would really appreciate your advice:

- Is public pension contributions required when applying for permanent residence in my case?

- Are there categories under permanent residences? Do I have to choose whether I am applying for, e.g. permanent residence as freelancer / permanent residence for family reunion / permanent residence as an employed person, etc? Or it doesn't matter as long as I have been residing in Germany for 5 years?

- Will I be entitled to do different kind of jobs with the permanent residence? (I am tired of being a freelancer and I am considering the possibility to look for a job once I have the permanent residence, if possible)

Thank you very much in advance for your help!

3 minutes ago, Dorirsita said:

I read this ( https://www.berlin.de/labo/willkommen-in-berlin/dienstleistungen/service.493516.php/dienstleistung/121864/ ), it says pension is a must, but then pension isn't required for freelancers. I'm a bit confused. Do I have to pay the pension back in order to fulfil this requirement? :(

What exactly do you find confusing? They've actually managed to explain it quite well.

23 minutes ago, engelchen said:

What exactly do you find confusing? They've actually managed to explain it quite well.

Thank you for your reply! My confusions are: