Affordable Lawyer to help w/ Customer Dispute

9 posts in this topic

Hello, 

I'm having a dispute w/ a big German company who is acting in bad faith regarding a contract, and I need some help. I'm looking for a lawyer that won't cost too much to write a letter, or the Verbraucherzentrale (but I feel my German is not good enough, and also not sure which option is better? What can they actually do?).

thanks.

Most lawyers charge a flat consultation fee but this does not include writing a letter on your behalf. I think that it's 120-250 Euros but I might be wrong. To write a letter on your behalf, they will have to bill you according to what the dispute is worth. You can use this tool to find out how much https://anwaltverein.de/de/service/prozesskostenrechner

Put in the claim amount under "Streitwert" and deselect everything except "Außergerichtliche Vertretung" (out of court representation) and you will get the number.

This is just based on my experience and I am no legal expert. I have no experience with the Verbraucherzentrale. I imagine they might investigate but not sure if they will claim your money back for you.

thanks. and the verbraucherzentrale? what can they actually do? is it worth going through them first? how do I find a good lawyer that does this?

I can't comment about the Verbraucherzentrale since I have had no experience there. Maybe someone here that has, will come along soon. With regards to finding a lawyer, it depends on what type of claim you have. You could try googling "Anwalt Verbraucherrecht Berlin" and make some calls. Also you might think you have a good case against the company but that not always necessarily be true. And you have to remember that, a lawyer gets paid either way, whether he wins your case or not. If you could share some more details of your story, people here might be able to give some inputs.